2019 John T. Lyle Memorial Scholarships Announced

The following Dane County students have been selected to receive a scholarship from the John T. Lyle Memorial Trust Fund for the 2019-2020 school year. The scholarships are awarded annually to Dane County students who have a career goal in agriculture or a related field, exhibit a strong sense of community volunteerism and service, maintain high grades, and participate in 4-H or FFA.

  • Ashley Nelson of Stoughton is a 2019 graduate of Stoughton High School and has been active in 4-H for 10 years. She plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison and major in Agriculture Biology this fall. Her long term goal is to work as geneticist and have a positive impact on the agriculture community.
  • Lindsey Sarbacker of Edgerton plans to continue her studies this fall at the University of Wisconsin-Madison towards a Dairy Science and Life Science Communications degree with a certificate in Ag Business Management. Lindsey was raised on a farm and participated in 4-H for 11 years and FFA for 5 years. She is considering a career in marketing to help the general public better understand agriculture.
  • Simon Shelley of Deerfield grew up on a farm and has participated in the 4-H program for the past 10 years. A recent Stoughton High School graduate, Simon plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison this fall and major in Biological Systems Engineering. His long term career plan is to design and engineer energy efficient machinery used in production, processing or transportation of agricultural products.
  • Mariah Miller of Oregon completed her high school studies this past spring and plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Platteville in the fall. She has participated in 4-H for 9 years and FFA for 3 years. Mariah will be studying Animal Science with the long term goal of working in a farm or laboratory environment conducting research and developing processes to improve quality meat animal production.

The John T. Lyle scholarship program is administered by Dane County Extension. The UW-Extension Committee of the Dane County Board of Supervisors awards the scholarships each year at one of their spring meetings. The number and amount of scholarship awards vary each year, depending on the number of applications received and the amount of funds available for distribution.

Dane County Extension is a partnership between Dane County and the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Division of Extension working together to help people put knowledge to work. It reflects the vision that has become known as The Wisconsin Idea. Extension works alongside the people of Dane County to deliver practical educational programs throughout urban and rural communities.