John T Lyle Memorial Trust Fund Scholarship Recipients Announced for 2018

The following students have been selected to receive a scholarship from the John T. Lyle Memorial Trust Fund for the 2018-2019 school year. The scholarships are awarded annually to Dane County students who have a career goal in agriculture or a related field, exhibit a strong sense of community volunteerism and service, maintain high grades, and participate in 4-H or FFA.

Dylan Herbrand

$2,000 – Dylan Herbrand of Dane will be enrolled at University of Wisconsin-Platteville in the fall where he plans to major in Agribusiness. He would like to specialize in agricultural engineering to help develop equipment to make farm life safer and easier.

Lindsey Sarbacker

$2,000 – Lindsey Sarbacker of Edgerton plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison to study Dairy Science and earn a certificate in Ag Business Management. She was raised on a farm and wants to become a professional in the agriculture industry.

Heidi Droster

$1,000 – Heidi Droster of Mt. Horeb will attend University of Wisconsin-Madison to earn a degree in Kinesiology. Her goal is to become a physical therapist specializing in Hippotherapy, the therapeutic use of horses to treat persons with disabilities or other needs.

Grace Link

$1,000 – Grace Link of Deerfield plans to earn her degree in Agriculture Business at Iowa State University. She wants to have her own herd while also pursuing a career in the promotion of cattle sales and events.

Emma Hanisko

$250 – Emma Hanisko of Cambridge intends to earn a degree in Food Science at University of Wisconsin-Madison. She wants to become a researcher helping to address food insecurity in her community and around the world.

Emma Laufenberg

$250 – Emma Laufenberg of Waunakee was raised on her family farm and plans to take the reins and enhance the offerings on the farm to connect people to the places where their food comes from. She will undertake study at MATC’s Agriculture Program.

Raina Richardson

$250 – Raina Richardson of Stoughton plans to complete her degree in Agricultural Economics at the College of Agriculture at UW-Madison. She ultimately wants to pursue a law degree to serve small to mid-size farms.

Kyra Ripp

$250 – Kyra Ripp of Black Earth will attend Northeast Iowa Community College in their Large Animal Veterinary Tech program. She plans to use her education to serve local dairy and horse farmers.

The John T. Lyle scholarship program is administered by Dane County UW-Extension. The UW-Extension Committee of the Dane County Board of Supervisors awards the scholarships each year at one of their spring meetings. The number and amount of scholarship awards vary each year, depending on the number of applications received and the amount of funds available for distribution.

Dane County UW-Extension is a partnership between Dane County and the University of Wisconsin Extension working together to help people put knowledge to work. It reflects the vision that has become known as The Wisconsin Idea. This partnership brings education to people where they live, and supports educational programs for farmers, businesses, communities, families and young people throughout Dane County.